Relics of the First Karmapa

There are four main traditions of Tibetan Buddhism: Nyingma, Sakya, Kagyu, and Gelug. The spiritual leader of the Kagyu tradition is His Holiness the Karmapa. The Karmapa is considered to be the embodiment of all the blessings of the lineage. To this day, each successive Karmapa has left a letter predicting the precise details and circumstances of his next rebirth.

The first Karmapa died when he was 84. His heart was found intact in the funeral pyre and some of his remaining bones had manifested into images of the buddhas.


The multiple relics were offered by Wu Wen Yuen in Taiwan in 2001.

The single relic was offered by Phyllis Kwan during a Relic Tour event in Ventura, California in 2005.


Popular posts from this blog

Hwayue Foundation: Notification on the Cancellation of the Diamond Sutra Teaching - teaching by HH the 17th Karmapa

Sikkim CM Chamling Seeks PM Modi’s Permission For Exiled Tibetan Leader’s Visit -

Reception with HRH the Prince of Wales; Tour of English Countryside

An Announcement From The Gyalwang Karmapa About The Recent Tragic Events Concerning Two Tibetan Children

The Benefits of Veneration at Rumtek Monastery

His Holiness 17th Karmapa’s First Visit to UK & Palpung Wales on the Road - Palpung Changchub Dargyeling

Advice on Spiritual Pracitce

The Manifestation of Compassionate Activity

Celebrate! Gyalwang Karmapa's July 2017 Visit to KTD - KTD

How to Find Freedom Through Meditation (Podcast Episode #014)